You are here:Home > Coaches Last Update: 7/06/10

Produced by Almaden Valley Rotary Club

*** COACHES 2010 ***

The All Star Coaches for 2010 are:

For the South:

  • Mike Carrozzo - Leland, Head Coach, Co-Defensive Coordinator, Inside Linebackers
    • 2009 - Metro PCS and SF 49ers Coach of the Week
    • 2001-Present - President, Owner of Competitive Edge Football Camps
    • 2007-Present - Head Coach at Leland High School
    • 2005-2006 - Defensive Line Coach at Santa Teresa High School
    • 2003-2004 - Offensive Line Coach at Menlo College
    • 2001-2003 - Head Coach at Prospect High School
    • 1999-2000 - Defensive Coordinator/OL Coach at Branham High School
    • 2004, 2006, 2007 - Asst Coach for Charlie Wedemeyer All Star Game
  • Scott Portera - Leland, Offensive Coordinator, Running Backs
    • 2007-Present - Offensive Coordinator at Leland High School
    • 2004-2006 - Offensive Coordinator at Willow Glen High School
    • 1991-1995 - Defensive Coordinator at Valley Christian High School
    • 1989-1990 - Defensive Coordinator at Willow Glen High School
  • Nick Alfano - Santa Teresa, Co-Defensive Coordinator, Outside Linebackers
  • Jake Shaughnessy - Leland, Offensive Line, Special Teams Coordinator
    • 2009-Present - Special Teams Coord at Leland High School
    • 2006-2008 - Assistant Coach at Menlo College
    • 2004-2005 - Assistant Coach at Albany High School
    • 2003-2004 - Defensive Coordinator at Marin JC
    • 2001-2002 - Head Coach at Tamalpais High School
    • 1999-2000 - Defensive Coordinator at Marin Catholic High School
    • 1998-1999 - Defensive Graduate Asst at UC Berkeley
    • 1992-1996 - Assistant Coach at St. Marys High School
  • Dave Geppert - Leland, Defensive Line
    • 2008-2010 - Defensive Line Coach at Leland High School
  • Matt Kiesle - Piedmont Hills, Quarterbacks
  • Tim Leong - Leland, Wide Receivers
    • San Jose Fire Captain for 27 years
    • 2007-Present - Assistant Coach at Leland High School
    • Varsity Football Coach for 10 years
    • Coached at Gunderson, and Independence High Schools
    • 1976-1978 - WR/DB at Oak Grove High School under Off Coord Mike Holmgren
  • Tim Leong Jr - Leland, Defensive Backs
    • Recent BS in Kinesiology from San Jose State University
    • Played WR/DB in high school and college
    • Enjoys coaching and molding young players into a positive direction
    • Enjoys traveling and outdoor activities such as running and hiking
  • Bryan Beacraft - Leland, Defensive Ends
    • 2009-Present - JV Head Coach at Leland High School
    • 2008 - JV Head Coach at Westmont High School
    • 2007 - South Defensive Ends Coach for Charlie Wedemeyer All Star Game
    • 2005-2006 - JV Head Coach at Willow Glen High School
    • 2004 - JV Offensive Coordinator at Gunderson High School

And for the North:

  • Matt Haniger - Mitty, Head Coach, Offensive Coordinator, Tight Ends
    • 2007-2009 - Head Coach, Mitty High School
    • 1986-1988 - Played OLB for the University of San Diego
    • 1985 - Played OLB for the North in the All-Star Game
    • 1983-1984 - Played TE/LB for Archbishop Mitty High School
  • Billy Miroyan - Mitty, Defensive Backs
  • Greg Saenz - Mitty, Defensive Coordinator
  • Rick Esparza - Mitty, Offensive Line
    • Employed by Mountain View HS as a Special Ed. Instructional Asst.
    • Resides in Sunnyvale with girlfriend Abbey & two dogs, Bonzo and Rocky
    • 2008-present - Offensive Line Coach, Mitty High School
    • 2003-2007 - Coached at Mountain View High School
    • 2003 - Graduated from West Valley College, 2000 Coast Conf Champions
    • 2000 - Graduated from Mitty HS, 1999 CCS Champions
  • Jeff Remington, Defensive Line
  • Anthony Brown - Mitty, Wide Receivers/Special Teams
  • Karriem Stinson - Harker, Running Backs
    • 2006-Present - Head Coach at The Harker School
    • 2005-2006 - JV Head Coach/Varsity Def Coord. at The Harker School
    • 2005 - North All-Star Running Backs Coach
    • 2000-2005 - JV Head Coach/Varsity Assistant at The Harker School
    • 1998-1999 - Equipment Manager at The Harker School

The previous head coaches were: 2009, 2008, 2007, 2006, 2005, 2004, 2003 and 2002.


Two complimentary tickets are available to every Santa Clara County Head Coach. A voucher is no longer necessary but it is adviseable to let us know if you plan to attend.

Also, let me know if there are any changes to the following list of High School Head Coaches.

Contact Jerry:
South High Schools


Andrew Hill Jake Redmond
Bellarmine Mike Janda
Branham Justin Hallis
Evergreen Leo Olmscheid
Gilroy Greg Garcia
Gunderson Bill Vine
Independence Norm Brown
James Lick Mario Martinez
Leland Mike Carrozzo
Abraham Lincoln Kevin Collins
Live Oak Jon Porras
Mount Pleasant Frank Lopez, Jr
Oak Grove Jay Braun
William C. Overfelt Ernie Mendoza
Piedmont Hills Matt Kiesle
Pioneer Eric Perry
San Jose Academy Joe Jones
Santa Teresa Nick Alfano
Silver Creek Chris Bolding
Sobrato Nick Borello
Valley Christian Mike Machado
Willow Glen Oscar Caballero
Yerba Buena Carlos Valenzuela
North High Schools


Cupertino Chris Oswald
Del Mar Jason Campbell
Fremont Ron Demonner
Gunn Bob Sykes
Harker School Karriem Stinson
Homestead Charles Bostic
Kings Academy Ron Kellner
Leigh Shawn Thomas
Los Altos Bill Waggoner
Los Gatos Butch Cattolico
Lynbrook Ray Wright
Milpitas Kelly King
Archbishop Mitty Matt Haniger
Monta Vista Jeff Mueller
Mountain View Dan Navarro
Palo Alto Earl Hansen
Prospect Mike Suarez
Saint Francis Nick Navarro
Santa Clara Mark Krail
Saratoga Tim Lugo
Westmont Eric Buran
Adrian Wilcox Woody Freitas